Have I invented a new Ten Stitch Blanket crochet method??

I’m not completely sure about the answer to that question, but I’ve yet to discover otherwise! There are many, many, many crocheters online who are much cleverer and much more experienced than me so I’m happy to be proven wrong. Either way, I came up with this method by myself and had no intentions of copying any one on purpose!

I really wanted to make a Ten Stitch Blanket but couldn’t get my head round the versions I’d seen around the Interwebs, so, like any mature adult, I gave up.

Then for Christmas, I Tunisian crocheted a shawl for my daughter and realised that I could modify the techniques in the pattern and use them to make a much simpler Ten Stitch Blanket.

If you don’t know how to Tunisian Crochet, have a peek at YouTube. There are lots of lovely videos by clever people there and you’ll be a pro in no time. It’s very, very easy so don’t be scared! I used Tunisian Simple Stitch and a normal hook for this blanket.

Stage 1

I used a 5 mm crochet hook (not a Tunisian hook) and double knit yarn. To get started, I find videos much easier to understand, so Beth’s video tutorial fits the first stage of my pattern perfectly. She is using different yarn and a different hook size from me, but follow her stitch counts and technique and you’ll get to where you need to go. Work up ten rows and then move on to Stage 2 below. Thank you, Beth!

Stage 2

We are going to change direction now and work along the top of your work towards the left.

Next, chain 11.
Next, chain 11.

 

Insert hook into 2nd chain from hook and pull up a loop. Repeat this 8 more times for a total of 10 loops on your hook.
Insert hook into 2nd chain from hook and pull up a loop. Repeat this 8 more times for a total of 10 loops on your hook.
Insert hook into 2nd space of main body of work and pull up a loop.
Insert hook into 2nd space of main body of work and pull up a loop.

 

Yarn over and pull through two loops. Repeat this for all loops on hook.
Yarn over and pull through two loops. Repeat this for all loops on hook.
Stage 2a. Insert hook into the second bar down and pull up a loop. Repeat this for all the bars for a total of 10 loops on the hook.
Stage 2a. Insert hook into the second bar down and pull up a loop. Repeat this for all the bars for a total of 10 loops on the hook.

 

Insert hook into 3rd space and pull up a loop. Yarn over and pull through two loops. Repeat to end of row.  Repeat Stages 2a and 2b until you've run out of space :>
Insert hook into 3rd space and pull up a loop. Yarn over and pull through two loops. Repeat to end of row. 

Next, repeat stage 2a until you’ve reached the end of the row. Then repeat from the very beginning of stage 2.

And that really is it! You just keep going and going and going until your blanket is as big as you want it to be. Below are some photos of mine while it was growing.

IMG_20150324_133100 IMG_20150324_133006 IMG_20150324_133030 IMG_20150414_180057I just keep adding colours whenever one runs out but you can make yours in all one colour or make proper divisions between them.

2 thoughts on “Have I invented a new Ten Stitch Blanket crochet method??

Leave a comment